Enjoying and having parties is a part of life. While getting in the cozy mood is not bad at all, there are some legal requirements that you must keep in mind. For example, driving when you are under the influence of alcohol or any other drug can wreak havoc.
You may bump your car into another vehicle or some person and get in serious trouble. Driving when you are not in your senses is not a good thing, even if you don’t account for the legal complexities. Keep reading this article if you are searching for a DUI defense lawyer near me and DUI laws in Wyoming.
Keeping in view the bad condition of DUI cases in Wyoming, authorities have put strict laws in place, and failing to obey them can put you in serious trouble. It is your right to refuse to take a field sobriety test; however, in Wyoming, one has to give the test as the Implied Consent Law in Wyoming forces all drivers to take the test anytime on the road. Failing to cooperate with the authorities is not a good option indeed. A driver will be charged in Wyoming if they are found to have 0.08% alcohol concentration in their blood. That’s why the only choice you have is hiring a DUI lawyer if you have been charged.
If You Aren’t Driving
Technically speaking, a person will be charged for a DUI case if they are driving the car. However, in Wyoming, state laws have been designed to minimize the chances of car accidents. So even if you are not driving the car and you are sitting in your car in a parking lot, you will still be charged for a DUI case if you are found to be under the influence. State laws are also clear that any person who can control the car and is found under the influence will be charged for DUI.
Statistics show that alcohol is one of the main reasons for car accidents in Wyoming. The result? Wyoming’s government has made it very difficult for people charged against DUI to get free without paying a huge price. For example, when you are found driving under the influence, the state will suspend your driving license. In most cases, people found guilty of driving under the influence for the first time will get their license suspended for 90 days. Getting your license suspended means that you will not be able to drive for work anymore. However, if you want to continue driving for work, you will have to schedule a hearing with WYDOT within 20 days.
Worst Case Scenarios
The minimum penalty in Wyoming in case of DUI is getting your license suspended. However, authorities can put you under these penalties, and you should care about these things:
- You may have to spend ten years in jail.
- You may have to pay up to $10,000 in fine.
- You may end up getting your CDL canceled for a year.
- In the worst case, you may be required to install an ignition interlock in your vehicle.